The Council 1.6.2017 - 31.5.2021


The Highest decision-making body is the municipality council. The council has a total responsibility over the municipal actions and its finance. The council consists of 23 members. The jurisdiction and quorum of municipal council are defined more specifically in the administrative regulations, which is the only compulsory rule of procedure for implementing actions.

The Municipality Council’s responsibilities include the definition of the municipality strategies and other important objectives, the bases of service fees and the bases of the municipality administration's organisation. The Municipality Council appoints other municipality bodies and the highest municipality officers. It also decides on principal financial matters such as the municipality budget, appropriations of different sectors and the municipal tax rate.

The Municipality Council also decides on the Municipality’s master plan and most important local plans, the establishment and closure of educational institutions, and certain social benefits as well as certain health care services. The organisation of the Municipality’s Council’s activities and the meeting procedure are defined in the Council agenda.

Chairman Lassi Kirjavainen
I Vice-chairman Matti Halonen
II Vice-chairman Suvi Laskar


Contact details

Tourist info

Our main Info center in located in the Municipal hall;

Juuan kunta
Poikolantie 1 
83900 Juuka

Open: Mon - Fri, 9am - 3pm

Ph. +358 40 104 2865 (Information point of the Municipal Hall)
Ph. +358 40 104 2000 (Switchboard)
Fax. (+358 13) 472 123

There are also Info boards at various locations around Juuka, for instance;

Teboil gas station - Opposite the Kivikylä
Pullover stops on Highway 6


Note! Kartalla - also in English!